Your Guide to the Eviction Process in Philadelphia

Your Guide to the Eviction Process in Philadelphia

Bad tenants make being a landlord a nightmare.

On average, between 2 million and 3 million evictions are filed per year in the United States. No property owner enjoys evicting tenants, but it's something you have to do when your investment is being compromised.

Whether you're worried about the well-being of your property or other tenants on the premises, going through an eviction is a time-consuming matter. In this post, we're going to give you a guide to the eviction process in Philadelphia.

Keep reading and you'll understand everything from eviction laws to notice requirements so you can get your property back ASAP.

Pennsylvania Eviction Laws

If you're going to carry out a successful eviction, you need to make sure you're following Pennsylvania's eviction laws. The most important aspect of this is that you actually have cause to evict the tenant.

Some of the main eviction reasons include failure to pay rent on time or complete non-payment of rent, violation of the lease agreement, and conducting illegal activity in the rental. If you can't prove that any of these things have occurred, then your eviction may not be lawful.

It's also illegal to carry out a self-eviction in Pennsylvania. Self-evictions involve taking actions to drive the tenant out of the property, such as shutting off utilities or seizing personal belongings.

Working With the Tenant

It's important to give the tenant as much rope as you can before filing the eviction. If you're on good terms with them, let them know that you're concerned about the late rent payments. You may also build a grace period into the rental agreement to give them extra time to pay rent.

When they repeatedly go beyond the grace period, you can let them know that a formal eviction may be necessary. This final notice will showcase your understanding and sensitivity as a landlord.

Sending an Official Notice

If your concerns go ignored, it's time to send a pay or quit notice. With non-payment of rent and illegal activity, you can give a 10-day pay or quit notice. Violation of rental terms is given a 15-day pay or quit notice unless the tenant has been in the unit for over a year, then it's 30 days.

The tenant will have those days to either rectify the situation or vacate the property. If the notice requirements are ignored, you'll have to file the eviction with the court.

The Eviction Process

Filing an eviction involves filling out eviction forms with the Magisterial District Justice court or Court of Common Pleas. You'll also have to pay a fee between $60 and $225, depending on what county you're in.

The eviction hearing will likely be set within a few weeks. As long as you've got evidence of the tenant's wrongdoing, an eviction case should be open and shut. That said, they can be time-consuming, especially if the tenant hires a lawyer to try and fight it.

Keeping Your Rental Property Eviction Free

Now that you understand the eviction process in Pennsylvania, it's time to tell you the best way to avoid it altogether. When you hire a good Philadelphia property manager, like Home River Group, you'll get the best tenant screening, marketing, and maintenance.

If you do need to evict a tenant, our eviction assistance will ensure that it goes smoothly. Contact us today to find out how we can help maximize your rental property in 2022.

Blog Home